About LIIC

The Long Island Insurance Community (LIIC) began in 1995 when a dozen LI insurance industry leaders got together to create a vehicle to give back to the community and to those less fortunate. Today nearly 500 insurance industry executives and business leaders gather together to raise funds at its annual gala.

The LIIC has raised more than $6 million at its annual galas, for Long Island charities.

The goal continues to be bringing the insurance community together to change the lives of Long Islanders in need. The gala annually honors industry and business leaders who have demonstrated a commitment to the community that has improved the quality of life for their neighbors.




Liberty Mutual Insurance/ SafeCo Insurance
2019Dino E. Robusto, Chairman of the Board & CEOCNA Financial Corporation
2018Robert M. Zak, President and CEOMerchants Insurance Group
2017Peter N. Resnik, President of Insurance / Northeast Region Sales Director Interboro Insurance Co./UPC Insurance Co.
2016Kevin Pearce, Assistant Vice President, Personal Insurance and Sean Ramalho, Regional Vice President, Select AcountsTravelers Insurance
2015Michael Cavallaro, Director & Chief Operating OfficerARC Excess & Surplus LLC
2014J. Douglas Robinson, Chairman of the Board & CEOUtica National Insurance Group
2013Doug Elliot, President Commercial MarketsThe Hartford
2012Richard “Ricky” Spiro, Executive VP & CFOChubb Corp.
2011Robert M. Zak, President & CEOMerchants Insurance Group
2010Thomas F. Motamed, Chairman and CEOCNA Insurance
2010David Perry, Sr. VP ClaimsCNA Insurance
2009Dennis J. Otmaskin, CPCU, Regional President NEHarleysville Insurance Company
2009Thomas W. Glancy, CPCU, AIC, Regional Vice President NE ClaimsHarleysville Insurance Company
2008Richard P. Kearns, Chief Administrative OfficerZurich Financial Services
2008Alice T. Kane, General CounselNA Zurich Financial Services
2007Michael H. Lee, President & CEOTower Group Companies
2006Lisa Tepper, Regional PresidentTravelers
2006Peter Brown, Regional Vice PresidentTravelers
2006Ricky Jones, Field vice President, Claims ServicesTravelers
2005Marita Zuraitis, PresidentHanover Insurance/Allmerica Financial
2005Stephen T. DooleyDooley Deremer Orr Agency
2004Michael D. Davidson, Vice PresidentIndependent Agent Organization, MetLife Auto & Home
2004Joseph DiBetta, National Director of ClaimsC N A Specialty Lines
2003Klaus G. Dorfi, Chairman & CEOAtlantic Mutual
2003Hon. Robert J. GaffneySuffolk County Executive
2002Ernie Lausier, PresidentThe Invantage Group, Encompass Insurance
2002Stephen Schector, PresidentD&D Associates
2001J. Douglas Robinson, Pres. & CEOUtica National Insurance Group
2000Tribute to Howard F. Treiber,The Treiber Group
1999Richard J. Quagliaroli, PresidentHartford Commercial Line & Financial Services
1999WALK FM 97.5
1998Robert M. Zak, President & CEOMerchants Insurance Group
1998Rivkin, Radler
1997Dennis H. Chookaszian, CEOC N A Insurance
1997Matthew Crosson, PresidentLI Association
1996Edward J. Muhl, Superintendent of InsuranceNYS Insurance Dept
1996Dean R. O’Hare, Chairiman, President & CEOChubb
1995Frank J. Coyne, President & COOGeneral Accident Insurance
1995Nelson DeMille, Best selling LI Author


A History of The Long Island Insurance Community – 20 Years